The smallest and oldest tri-bastion fort in the country. Fort San Pedro served as the hub of the Spanish settlement in the Philippines. It has a total inner area of 2,025 sq. meters, with the walls being 20 feet high and 8 feet thick. The tower stands approx 30 feet high from ground level. Work was first started on May 8, 1565 with Miguel Lopez De Legazpi breaking the ground. After the battle of Manila Bay, Commodore George Dewey turned the fort over to the local Cebuanos. It became the American Warwick Barracks during the American Regime, and was later converted into classrooms where Cebuanos could receive a formal education. During World War II, from 1941 to 1945, it served as fortification for Japanese soldiers. When the battle for liberation was fought, the fort served as an army camp. After 1950, Cebu Garden Club took over and fixed the inner court into a miniature garden. For a couple of years it also housed the Cebu City Zoo. In 1978 to August 15, 1993, it housed the offices of Department of Tourism and the Philippine Tourism Authority. At present, it is under the care and administration of the PTA and now houses the National Museum that showcases the San Diego shipwreck & Fort San Pedro diggings.
CALL US: 516.5117 / 262.3980